RAP ARTISTS MESSAGE FOR TALIBAN

RAP ARTISTS MESSAGE FOR TALIBAN

From http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2013/01/04/susan-feroz-afghanistan-s-first-female-rapper.html

Susan Feroz: Afghanistan’s First Female Rapper

Jan 4, 2013 12:00 AM EST

Afghanistan’s first female rapper refuses to be silenced. 
By Sami Yousafzai and Ron Moreau

“Listen to my voice/It’s not just your choice,” raps Susan Feroz on her new track “Naqisul Aqal,” an Islamic term that means “mentally disturbed” and is frequently used to insult women. “I am not just a woman/I am also human.”

Afghan female rapper Susan Feroz at her house in Kabul. (Zalmai for Newsweek)

It’s a simple message, but as Afghanistan’s first female rapper, Feroz is hoping it will make a difference in her tradition-bound homeland. “Men should have this feeling that women are half of our society. Right now, men see woman as having little or no value,” she says. “I want to encourage women, and to make men understand we can do the same things that they do.”

Born in Afghanistan and raised in neighboring Iran, Feroz—who speaks Farsi—began rapping a year ago to 
express the suffering that her family and fellow Afghan refugees experienced during their exile in Iran and Pakistan. Her first recording, “Our Neighbors,” details the difficulties of immigrant life. The song quickly became popular, as well as controversial—conservative Afghans were opposed to the idea of a girl rapping, while others protested against her comments on Iran. “I’m surprised how famous I became with one song,” she says.

In “Our Neighbors,” Feroz recalls the insults and humiliation she endured abroad. In Iran, where she lived with her family for seven years, she was rarely allowed to go to school. Some bureaucratic excuse always surfaced to prevent her and other refugees from registering, she says. The daily trip to the bakery to buy bread was often a harrowing ordeal. More than once, men would take her by the ear and pull her to the back of the queue, telling her, “The place for you dirty Afghans is at the end of the line.” She says she always shot back at them: “We are working in your country and not begging.”

“If you looked a man in the eyes, he would call you all kinds of names,” she says. “As a result of these insults, I think half of us became terrorists and the other half, drug addicts.” The three years she spent in Pakistan were hardly better. “The Pakistani police were always bothering us,” she says.

She returned to Afghanistan in 2003, when her father landed a job in the southern city of Kandahar. Happy to be home again, she wanted to study to be a doctor or an engineer—but as a Farsi speaker, she was unable to attend the Pashto-language schools there. With her education on hold, she pursued her love of singing and acting. Her breakthrough came 18 months ago, when the family moved to Kabul and she began to rap to express her frustrations. With most popular Afghan music hewing to syrupy romantic ballads, Feroz’s songs were a novelty—and she caught the eye of Farid Rastagar, Afghanistan’s top music director, who promoted her talents. (Rastagar’s wife, Wajiha, is the country’s most famous singer.) Thanks to her newfound fame, Feroz landed parts in Afghan TV soaps and movies, and has become the family’s sole breadwinner.

Feroz’s parents have been supportive of her musical career, even as she shatters the traditionally subservient role for women in patriarchal Afghanistan. Her father acts as her manager and even helped produce “Naqisul Aqal,” with its iconoclastic lyrics. But Feroz’s songs and her style—she performs on stage in blue jeans and a sweatshirt, with a cricket cap perched sideways over her long black hair—have generated decidedly mixed reviews. The rest of her extended family has disowned her: “My cousins have cut off all their relationships with us,” she says. “They do not want me to sing. They say I am shaming them.” Posts on her Facebook profile are equally harsh. “Talk for yourself BITCH. Your [sic] a disgrace,” reads one. But other Afghans welcome her brutal honesty. Another posting reflects, “Her lyrics is [sic] the truth.”

The young singer has also received threats—telephone calls from unknown cell numbers, with strange voices communicating graphic and frightening scenarios. The callers tell her that she is insulting Iran, and they threaten to kill her, throw acid in her face, or kidnap her. But Feroz is undeterred. “This is the harsh reality,” she says. “I tell them, you have already insulted me and Afghans a lot. We don’t have good memories of Iran.”

The threats, she says, only encourage her to keep rapping to express the dard hai dil, or “heartaches,” of the Afghan people. Feroz is even considering penning a rap to the Taliban, to express her wish for 
a peaceful Afghanistan. “My request to the Taliban is that they stop killing innocent people,” she says. “They should work to be accepted by the people.”

After the U.S. withdraws its troops in 2014, she says, Afghans should be able to pull together and stay united. “It’s not important what will happen if the foreigners leave,” she says. “What’s important is for us to do what we can to improve our country’s situation together … I hope Afghanistan can become stable.”

The oppressed status of women is also high on Feroz’s agenda. She’s noticed that when the Afghan Parliament meets, many of the seats held by men are often vacant, while the small minority of seats held by women are always filled. So she has a message for President Hamid Karzai: if half of the members of Parliament were women, the legislature would always have a quorum. “People laugh when they see empty seats in Parliament,” she says. “Women will make a difference. They will always be present.”

GET NEWSWEEK ON YOUR TABLET

Like The Daily Beast on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for updates all day long.

Sami Yousafzai is Newsweek‘s correspondent in Pakistan and Afghanistan, where he has covered militancy, al Qaeda, and the Taliban for the magazine since 9/11. He was born in Afghanistan but moved to Pakistan with his family after the Russian invasion in 1979. He began his career as a sports journalist but switched to war reporting in 1997.

Ron Moreau is Newsweek’s Afghanistan and Pakistan correspondent, and has been covering the region for the magazine for the past 10 years. Since he first joined Newsweek during the Vietnam War, he has reported extensively from Asia, the Middle East, and Latin America.

For inquiries, please contact The Daily Beast at editorial@thedailybeast.com.

From http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2013/01/04/susan-feroz-afghanistan-s-first-female-rapper.html

Tags: , , ,

28 Responses to “RAP ARTISTS MESSAGE FOR TALIBAN”

  1. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    CAN’T KEEP UP…BUT THANKS FOR THE “THANX”
    MANY MORE COMMENTS OVERNIGHT (and hundreds of thousands already on my other blogs – true!) …so hope it’s not slowing down your loading speed!). Am really pleased you are enjoying my writings, as the reason I write is to share.
    Am having to remove many and so sorry can’t reply individually, but DO try to read as many as possible daily
    so “thanks for the thanx”
    “As we live and move and have our being, so from this vision, we create heaven in our own lives… and perhaps even heaven on earth.”
    – craig (as inspired by Acts 17:28 and the words of Felicia Searcy)
    “Aim at the earth and you may not get off the ground.
    “Aim at the stars and you may reach the moon.”
    “Aim at heaven and you’ll have earth thrown in…
    and you may even hit the stars.”
    – craig (as inspired by the famous quote by CS Lewis – 24th May 2012)
    “When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”
    – Leonardo da Vinci
    http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.html
    “If a man is called to be a street-sweeper,
    he should sweep streets even as Michelangelo painted,
    or Beethoven composed music, or
    Shakespeare wrote poetry.
    He should sweep streets so well
    that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say,
    here lived a great street sweeper
    who did his job well.”
    – Dr Martin Luther King, Jr.
    http://peacepursuit.wordpress.com/
    http://breakdownwalls.wordpress.com/

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4

    All proceeds go to needy and underprivileged children –
    MINE!

    PPS

    Instead of trying to reply to each one of you, I’ll just keep on writing
    “If the doctor told me I had six minutes to live, I’d type a little faster.”
    http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and and http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.html

    Like

  2. how to make quick money online Says:

    This design is steller! You most certainly know
    how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos,
    I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.

    ..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you
    had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    Like

  3. craig Says:

    Hi
    Thanks for the comment/question/suggestion; however just to say that I have NO technical knowledge, nor much spare time in between writing and “managing” my many WordPress blogs, so not much use asking anything “techno”. You wouldn’t believe how this blog simply developed from simple postings of my writings and various ideas to WordPress. I just write and post.
    My various writing articles at http://www.craigswritingarticles.wordprwess.com and http://www.nzwriter.wordpress.com may be helpful to you.
    Pleased you like it (as the reason I write is to share
    Thanks for the understanding and all the best

    “total non-techno” craig

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and http://goo.gl/vTpjk

    “Since I can never see your face,
    And never shake you by the hand,
    I send my soul through time and space
    To greet you. You will understand.”
    – James Elroy Flecker

    Like

  4. how to overcome procrastination high school Says:

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up plus the rest of the site is very good.

    Like

  5. dark spots on skin Says:

    I’m extremely inspired along with your writing talents as smartly as with the layout in your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice high quality writing, it is uncommon to see a great blog like this one these days..

    Like

  6. social anxiety disorder Says:

    Hi, I check your blogs like every week. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep doing what you’re doing!

    Like

  7. singing lessons Says:

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back sometime soon. I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

    Like

  8. covert hypnosis guide Says:

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and
    found that it is truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate
    if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    Like

  9. tattoo pictures Says:

    I have been browsing on-line more than three hours lately, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty value sufficient for me.

    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will likely be much more helpful
    than ever before.

    Like

  10. boligityrkia.net Says:

    I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet visitors, its really really pleasant post on building up new blog.

    Like

  11. Maximo Says:

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look
    forward to brand new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

    Like

  12. craiglock Says:

    Hi

    Thanks and pleased you like it. I have no idea how to do that (I just write and post), but am very happy if you just pass on some positive news (the world certainly needs it
    Regards

    “total non-techno” c

    Like

  13. Immobilienalanya.Net Says:

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account
    your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

    Like

  14. http://immobilienalanya.net/immobilien-bodrum Says:

    Usually I do not learn post on blogs, but I would
    like to say that this write-up very pressured me to
    check out and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me.

    Thank you, very great post.

    Like

  15. Ps3 Ylod Fix Guide Free Says:

    Admiring the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material.
    Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

  16. Zandra Horenstein Says:

    Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this article to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  17. learn spanish Says:

    These are in fact fantastic ideas in regarding blogging.

    You have touched some pleasant things here. Any way keep up
    wrinting.

    Like

  18. Paul Lacey Says:

    I do like the way you have presented this matter plus it really does offer me personally some fodder for consideration. On the other hand, through everything that I have observed, I just simply wish when the reviews pack on that folks keep on issue and not start upon a tirade involving the news du jour. Yet, thank you for this fantastic point and whilst I do not necessarily agree with the idea in totality, I respect your standpoint.

    Like

  19. self hypnosis Says:

    I think the admin of this web site is really
    working hard in favor of his web site, as here
    every data is quality based stuff.

    Like

  20. multikody do katalogów Says:

    Can I simply say what a reduction to search out somebody who really is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know learn how to convey a problem to mild and make it important. Extra people must read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant believe youre no more well-liked since you undoubtedly have the gift.

    Like

  21. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    CAN’T KEEP UP…BUT THANKS FOR THE “THANX”
    MANY MORE COMMENTS OVERNIGHT (and many hundreds of thousands already on my other blogs …true!) …so hope it’s not slowing down your loading speed!). Am really pleased you are enjoying my writings, as the reason I write is to share.
    Am having to remove many and so sorry can’t reply individually, but DO try to read as many as possible daily
    so “thanks for the thanx”
    “As we live and move and have our being, so from this vision, we create heaven in our own lives… and perhaps even heaven on earth.”
    – craig (as inspired by Acts 17:28 and the words of Felicia Searcy)
    “Aim at the earth and you may not get off the ground.
    “Aim at the stars and you may reach the moon.”
    “Aim at heaven and you’ll have earth thrown in…
    and you may even hit the stars.”
    – craig (as inspired by the famous quote by CS Lewis – 24th May 2012)
    “When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”
    – Leonardo da Vinci
    http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.html
    “If a man is called to be a street-sweeper,
    he should sweep streets even as Michelangelo painted,
    or Beethoven composed music, or
    Shakespeare wrote poetry.
    He should sweep streets so well
    that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say,
    here lived a great street sweeper
    who did his job well.”
    – Dr Martin Luther King, Jr.
    http://peacepursuit.wordpress.com/
    http://breakdownwalls.wordpress.com/

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4

    All proceeds go to needy and underprivileged children –
    MINE!

    PPS

    Instead of trying to reply to each one of you, I’ll just keep on writing
    “If the doctor told me I had six minutes to live, I’d type a little faster.”
    http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and and http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.htm

    Like

  22. http://puregreencoffeebeansextract.webs.com/ Says:

    It’s an amazing article in support of all the online visitors; they will take advantage from it I am sure.

    Like

  23. next Says:

    This is often a amazing site, would you be interested in making time for an interview regarding just how you created it? If so e-mail me personally!

    Like

  24. craiglock Says:

    Pleased you liked it and sure

    All the best

    craig

    Like

  25. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    Thanks for the comment/question/suggestion; however just to say that I have NO technical knowledge, nor much spare time in between writing and “managing” my many WordPress blogs, so not much use asking anything “techno”. You wouldn’t believe how this blog simply developed from simple postings of my writings and various ideas to WordPress. I just write and post.
    My various writing articles at http://www.craigswritingarticles.wordprwess.com and http://www.nzwriter.wordpress.com may be helpful to you.
    Pleased you like it (as the reason I write is to share
    Thanks for the understanding and all the best

    “total non-techno” craig

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and http://goo.gl/vTpjk

    “Since I can never see your face,
    And never shake you by the hand,
    I send my soul through time and space
    To greet you. You will understand.”
    – James Elroy Flecker

    Like

  26. craiglock Says:

    Reblogged this on The Pursuit of a More Peaceful Middle East…and so a more peaceful and better World.

    Like

  27. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    MANY MORE COMMENTS OVERNIGHT ( many thousands already on this blog and many hundreds of thousands on my various other blogs – true!)
    so having to remove some to “make space in cyberspace”

    Firstly, thanks for the feedback to you all, and this article and web site has really “seemed to have struck a chord” with so many of you “out there in cyberspace.”. However, it also means that I’m being swamped by “spam mail” (most of the comments are great).

    So I can’t go through the thousands of messages I get each day on my various blogs and have to “simply empty the “spam” box (not really spam) after quickly reading each one.
    Still I’m pleased you readers are enjoying these thoughts (why I write) and I do APPRECIATE the feedback. Will try to read as many responses as I can each day.
    and approve a few each day (seeing you’ve taken the “trouble” to write in and say ‘thanks’). I really DO appreciate the positive feedback – the reason I write my various articles and books (at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4) is to share

    To answer a few questions (I’m “snowed under”, so sorry, don’t have resources as a “one man band” to answer you individually)

    * All my articles may be freely reproduced (sorry don’t have time write for other websites), as I’m busy writing a few books at the moment

    * You may not believe this, but I’m a “total non-techno”, so know, NOTHING about web site design, RSS feeds, web browsers, how the site looks, etc. So not much point advising me of any “techno” problems! And lay-out is not one of my strong points. I just write and posted on the blog (in pure faith)! How I got am where I am is a “miracle” . And no one would believe the story (only those who have true faith)! BELIEVE it (first) … then you’ll see it!
    “Believing is seeing.”
    (BEFORE the event)
    * I don’t have time to look at other web sites or comment on design (I know nothing about that. To the person complaining that I should write better, I’m trying really hard and am “hitting the red zone” (rev limiter) already

    ”Man invented language in order to satisfy his need to complain.”
    – Canadian linguist Steven Pinker

    * If you clicked on contact and you keep on getting mail (or something like that) I know NOTHING, so contact WordPress admin (support@wordpress.com/and/or help@wordpress.com mailto:help@wordpress.com . I put most of my focus into my books, so have no idea how to add sound, video, etc to the blog.

    * please feel free to link to the web site or my other wordpress blogs at http://craigsblogs.wordpress.com should you wish, but I have no time to do links

    * I don’t have a newsletter to subscribe to and don’t have time to waste on Facebook or Twitter

    * Will try to post articles from time to time, but all my writings are available at http://www.selfgrowth.com/articles/user/15565 and http://www.ideamarketers.com/library/profile.cfm?writerid=981
    (Personal growth, self help, writing, internet marketing, spiritual, ‘spiritual writings’ (how ‘airey-fairey’), words of inspiration. Please feel free to us
    Thanks again for the understanding

    thanks for the understanding “total non-techno” craig

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.html

    If the Lord makes you successful, I’ll keep you humble!”
    – a wife (I won’t say whose!)

    PPS

    thanks for the understanding and I DO really appreciate your “writing in”
    “Thanks for the thanks”

    “When (or if ever) you arrive in heaven, let faith and love be the wings that carried you there.”
    – as adapted from the inspiring words of Jonathan Edwards, former minister in New England, Massachusetts
    “The Greatest Race: Living by (with) faith, hope and love is the highest podium any person can reach, God’s podium that anyone stand on.”
    – craig

    Having pursued the goals, the dreams set before us and run the race with persistence and endurance, after giving it all. Then one day standing on the summit of life, breathing in the pure sweet oxygen of achievement, totally satisfied in running the greatest race, the race of life one that ANYONE can run and win.
    craig 11/11/11

    Time to sleep then back to my books at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4

    PPS: Don’t worry about the world ending today…

    it’s already tomorrow in “little” scenic and tranquil New Zealand

    “Life is God’s novel. Let him write it.” by Isaac Bashevis Singer

    “Here was a light behind the despair, beyond the darkness. At first a flicker of an ember, just a tiny pin-prick of dawning possibilities. Then burning slowly, brightly and bigger, a glimmer, a candle in the blackness of despair, which gave off just enough of a glow (luminescence?) to light a path. And so show the rest of us the way ahead… a path to endless possibilities…from the darkness into the eternal light.” as adapted (slightly) from Rian Malan’s powerful words in ‘My Traitor’s Heart’
    From “It’s Always Darkest Before the Dawn”

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4

    Together, one mind, one heart, one life at a time, lets see how many people we can impact, encourage, empower and perhaps even inspire to reach their fullest potentials.”

    Life is God’s novel; so let Ultimate Source write it, as it unfolds….”

    craig (as inspired by the words of Isaac Bashevis Singer)

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007E2WXW0

    http://peacepursuit.wordpress.com/
    http://breakdownwalls.wordpress.com/

    Like

  28. pakistani drama , new saraiki song 2014 , new pashto song 2014 , new hindi song , new hindi movies, new saraiki drama, saraiki new song , pashto new song Says:

    pakistani drama , new saraiki song 2014 , new pashto song 2014 , new hindi song , new hindi movies, new saraiki drama, saraiki new song , pashto new song

    […]RAP ARTISTS MESSAGE FOR TALIBAN | Unsung Heroes[…]

    Like

Leave a Reply

