Earthquake sets new direction: A nurse who lost her husband in Christchurch tragedy finds fresh purpose overseas.

 

Quake sets new direction

By Yvonne Tahana

from http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10861991

5:30 AM Tuesday Jan 29, 2013

  1. Email
  2. Print
  3. 6.          
  4. 7.         Quake pushed nurse to follow through with deal

A nurse who lost her husband in Christchurch tragedy finds fresh purpose overseas.

EXPAND

Cindy Gibb with Sam Gibb who died in the CTV building. Above, Cindy at work with Doctors Without Borders in Tajikistan. Photo / SUpplied

Christchurch’s Cindy Gibb made a deal with her husband – one day she’d be able to travel the world to places where nursing skills were in short supply and work.

But that day came sooner than either she or Sam Gibb planned. A journalist in the CTV building, Mr Gibb died in the February 2011 earthquake.

Mrs Gibb, now 30, left the city in November 2011 and for a year worked in Tajikistan, as a nurse with Doctors without Borders.

“I was going to do it years ago and Sam and I just talked and decided we’d get married and have a family, but we had an agreement … just one day, we didn’t know when it would happen, after the kids – I had Sam’s full support.

“After the earthquake I knew very quickly that this was the best thing for me to do. You can see it probably as running away a little bit … but I had to find something to do and I was just really, really lucky that I had something else to fall back on that was so good and so right.”

Tajikistan gained its independence after the Soviet Union broke up in 1991 and experienced a civil war during that decade. Mountainous, landlocked with more than seven million people, it remains one of the poorest countries in the region.

It also has one of the highest rates of tuberculosis in the World Health Organisation’s European region.

Doctors without Borders estimates between 200 to 250 people per 100,000 have the highly infectious disease.

She was based in the capital, Dushanbe, but travelled extensively throughout the country to treat children. It’s an experience that helped her process her feelings away from the collective grief of her home city.

Many live in isolated villages accessible sometimes only by donkeys because of the terrain, may not have electricity in the winter and experience temperatures from below freezing to 40C. But they take pleasure in laying on a spread for visitors, a gift to cherish given that it is only in people’s homes that the scale of poverty becomes clear.

“They work really hard because life is hard. The warmth in people’s eyes, it sort of overthrows all of that.

“You meet people with the most gorgeous olive skin, and pale green eyes. Old men with big snowy white beards, and these beautifully weathered faces and wearing these thick coats …

“It’s really quite magical, it’s such an unknown part of the world and I just feel really privileged I got to spend so much time there.”

Mrs Gibb wants to raise the profile of the aid organisation in New Zealand. It survives on donations and provides impartial assistance in countries where people are threatened by violence, neglect, conflict, epidemics, malnutrition, natural disasters or excluded from health care.

On Friday, following a six-week break at home with her parents, she leaves for a child and maternity contract in Pakistan, close to the Afghan border.

She’s not overly concerned about her safety even though she acknowledges it will be dangerous. There will be higher security protocols to follow and she’ll wear a veil for the entire time she’s there. But life is to be lived and that’s something her husband understood, she says.

By Yvonne Tahana EmailYvonne

from http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10861991

 

Tags: ,

51 Responses to “Earthquake sets new direction: A nurse who lost her husband in Christchurch tragedy finds fresh purpose overseas.”

  1. craig Says:

    Hi
    Thanks for the comment/question/suggestion; however just to say that I have NO technical knowledge, nor much spare time in between writing and “managing” my many WordPress blogs, so not much use asking anything “techno”. You wouldn’t believe how this blog simply developed from simple postings of my writings and various ideas to WordPress. I just write and post.
    My various writing articles at http://www.craigswritingarticles.wordprwess.com and http://www.nzwriter.wordpress.com may be helpful to you.
    Pleased you like it (as the reason I write is to share
    Thanks for the understanding and all the best

    “total non-techno” craig

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and http://goo.gl/vTpjk

    “Since I can never see your face,
    And never shake you by the hand,
    I send my soul through time and space
    To greet you. You will understand.”
    – James Elroy Flecker

    Like

  2. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    CAN’T KEEP UP…BUT THANKS FOR THE “THANX”
    MANY MORE COMMENTS OVERNIGHT (and hundreds of thousands already on my other blogs true!) …so hope it’s not slowing down your loading speed!). Am really pleased you are enjoying my writings, as the reason I write is to share.
    Am having to remove many and so sorry can’t reply individually, but DO try to read as many as possible daily
    so “thanks for the thanx”
    “As we live and move and have our being, so from this vision, we create heaven in our own lives… and perhaps even heaven on earth.”
    – craig (as inspired by Acts 17:28 and the words of Felicia Searcy)
    “Aim at the earth and you may not get off the ground.
    “Aim at the stars and you may reach the moon.”
    “Aim at heaven and you’ll have earth thrown in…
    and you may even hit the stars.”
    – craig (as inspired by the famous quote by CS Lewis – 24th May 2012)
    “When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”
    – Leonardo da Vinci
    http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.html
    “If a man is called to be a street-sweeper,
    he should sweep streets even as Michelangelo painted,
    or Beethoven composed music, or
    Shakespeare wrote poetry.
    He should sweep streets so well
    that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say,
    here lived a great street sweeper
    who did his job well.”
    – Dr Martin Luther King, Jr.
    http://peacepursuit.wordpress.com/
    http://breakdownwalls.wordpress.com/

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4

    All proceeds go to needy and underprivileged children –
    MINE!

    PPS

    Instead of trying to reply to each one of you, I’ll just keep on writing
    “If the doctor told me I had six minutes to live, I’d type a little faster.”
    http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and and http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.htm

    Like

  3. Jenice Africa Says:

    Thank you, I have recently been searching for info about this topic for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve found out so far. However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you positive about the supply?

    Like

  4. medal of honor warfighter cheat Says:

    This is a fantastic web site, would you be interested in doing an interview about just how you designed it? If so e-mail me!

    Like

  5. craiglock Says:

    sure

    all the best

    c

    Like

  6. best restaurant franchise reviews Says:

    I Will have to return again whenever my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Rss feed so i could go through your blog offline. Cheers.

    Like

  7. get dr jason helliwell Says:

    This blog has some extremely helpful info on it. Cheers for informing me.

    Like

  8. spis firm Says:

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will often come back at some point. I want to encourage one to continue your great work, have a nice afternoon!

    Like

  9. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    Thanks for the comment/question/suggestion; however just to say that I have NO technical knowledge, nor much spare time in between writing and “managing” my many WordPress blogs, so not much use asking anything “techno”. You wouldn’t believe how this blog simply developed from simple postings of my writings and various ideas to WordPress. I just write and post.
    My various writing articles at http://www.craigswritingarticles.wordpress.com and http://www.nzwriter.wordpress.com may be helpful to you.
    Pleased you like it (as the reason I write is to share
    Thanks for the understanding and all the best

    “total non-techno” craig

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and http://goo.gl/vTpjk

    “Since I can never see your face,
    And never shake you by the hand,
    I send my soul through time and space
    To greet you. You will understand.”
    – James Elroy Flecker

    PPS:

    IF PEOPLE DON’T WANT TO (OR CAN’T BE BOTHERED TO) READ ABOVE COMMENTS I”LL CONSIDER SHUTTING DOWN COMMENTS ON THIS BLOG!!

    Like

  10. craiglock Says:

    Reblogged this on Craig's List of Writings.

    Like

  11. Dolores Spotts Says:

    I was looking through some of your articles on this website and I think this web site is really instructive! Continue putting up.

    Like

  12. Taylor Oneel Says:

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “It is impossible to underrate human intelligence–beginning with one’s own.” by Henry Adams.

    Like

  13. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    MANY MORE COMMENTS OVERNIGHT ( many thousands already on this blog and many hundreds of thousands on my various other blogs – true!)
    so having to remove some to “make space in cyberspace”

    Firstly, thanks for the feedback to you all, and this article and web site has really “seemed to have struck a chord” with so many of you “out there in cyberspace.”. However, it also means that I’m being swamped by “spam mail” (most of the comments are great).

    So I can’t go through the thousands of messages I get each day on my various blogs and have to “simply empty the “spam” box (not really spam) after quickly reading each one.
    Still I’m pleased you readers are enjoying these thoughts (why I write) and I do APPRECIATE the feedback. Will try to read as many responses as I can each day.
    and approve a few each day (seeing you’ve taken the “trouble” to write in and say ‘thanks’). I really DO appreciate the positive feedback – the reason I write my various articles and books (at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4) is to share

    To answer a few questions (I’m “snowed under”, so sorry, don’t have resources as a “one man band” to answer you individually)

    * All my articles may be freely reproduced (sorry don’t have time write for other websites), as I’m busy writing a few books at the moment

    * You may not believe this, but I’m a “total non-techno”, so know, NOTHING about web site design, RSS feeds, web browsers, how the site looks, etc. So not much point advising me of any “techno” problems! And lay-out is not one of my strong points. I just write and posted on the blog (in pure faith)! How I got am where I am is a “miracle” . And no one would believe the story (only those who have true faith)! BELIEVE it (first) … then you’ll see it!
    “Believing is seeing.”
    (BEFORE the event)
    * I don’t have time to look at other web sites or comment on design (I know nothing about that. To the person complaining that I should write better, I’m trying really hard and am “hitting the red zone” (rev limiter) already

    ”Man invented language in order to satisfy his need to complain.”
    – Canadian linguist Steven Pinker

    * If you clicked on contact and you keep on getting mail (or something like that) I know NOTHING, so contact WordPress admin (support@wordpress.com/and/or help@wordpress.com mailto:help@wordpress.com . I put most of my focus into my books, so have no idea how to add sound, video, etc to the blog.

    * please feel free to link to the web site or my other wordpress blogs at http://craigsblogs.wordpress.com should you wish, but I have no time to do links

    * I don’t have a newsletter to subscribe to and don’t have time to waste on Facebook or Twitter

    * Will try to post articles from time to time, but all my writings are available at http://www.selfgrowth.com/articles/user/15565 and http://www.ideamarketers.com/library/profile.cfm?writerid=981
    (Personal growth, self help, writing, internet marketing, spiritual, ‘spiritual writings’ (how ‘airey-fairey’), words of inspiration. Please feel free to us
    Thanks again for the understanding

    thanks for the understanding “total non-techno” craig

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.html

    If the Lord makes you successful, I’ll keep you humble!”
    – a wife (I won’t say whose!)

    PPS

    thanks for the understanding and I DO really appreciate your “writing in”
    “Thanks for the thanks”

    “When (or if ever) you arrive in heaven, let faith and love be the wings that carried you there.”
    – as adapted from the inspiring words of Jonathan Edwards, former minister in New England, Massachusetts
    “The Greatest Race: Living by (with) faith, hope and love is the highest podium any person can reach, God’s podium that anyone stand on.”
    – craig

    Having pursued the goals, the dreams set before us and run the race with persistence and endurance, after giving it all. Then one day standing on the summit of life, breathing in the pure sweet oxygen of achievement, totally satisfied in running the greatest race, the race of life one that ANYONE can run and win.
    craig 11/11/11

    Time to sleep then back to my books at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4

    PPS: Don’t worry about the world ending today…

    it’s already tomorrow in “little” scenic and tranquil New Zealand

    “Life is God’s novel. Let him write it.” by Isaac Bashevis Singer

    “Here was a light behind the despair, beyond the darkness. At first a flicker of an ember, just a tiny pin-prick of dawning possibilities. Then burning slowly, brightly and bigger, a glimmer, a candle in the blackness of despair, which gave off just enough of a glow (luminescence?) to light a path. And so show the rest of us the way ahead… a path to endless possibilities…from the darkness into the eternal light.” as adapted (slightly) from Rian Malan’s powerful words in ‘My Traitor’s Heart’
    From “It’s Always Darkest Before the Dawn”

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4

    Together, one mind, one heart, one life at a time, lets see how many people we can impact, encourage, empower and perhaps even inspire to reach their fullest potentials.”

    Life is God’s novel; so let Ultimate Source write it, as it unfolds….”

    craig (as inspired by the words of Isaac Bashevis Singer)

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007E2WXW0

    http://peacepursuit.wordpress.com/
    http://breakdownwalls.wordpress.com/

    Like

  14. Karina Brizeno Says:

    For sites just like the internet was given birth to! I say this particular along with extensive understanding, due to the fact I quite a few very much the same websites, but none of them has been as effective as your site!

    Like

  15. Social Networking - The Subsequent Great Marketing and advertising Medium? - worldsoc Says:

    Is it alright to insert a portion of this on my personal webpage if perhaps I submit a reference to this web-site?

    Like

  16. craiglock Says:

    sure
    all the best
    c

    Like

  17. craiglock Says:

    * If you clicked on contact and you keep on getting mail (or something like that) I know NOTHING, so contact WordPress admin (support@wordpress.com/and/or help@wordpress.com mailto:help@wordpress.com .
    They say they will sort out
    Good luck
    “total non=techno and swamped” c

    Like

  18. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    Thanks for the comment/question/suggestion; however just to say that I have NO technical knowledge, nor much spare time in between writing and “managing” my many WordPress blogs, so not much use asking anything “techno”. You wouldn’t believe how this blog simply developed from simple postings of my writings and various ideas to WordPress. I just write and post.
    My various writing articles at http://www.craigswritingarticles.wordpress.com and http://www.nzwriter.wordpress.com may be helpful to you.
    Pleased you like it (as the reason I write is to share
    Thanks for the understanding and all the best

    “total non-techno” craig

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and http://goo.gl/vTpjk

    “Since I can never see your face,
    And never shake you by the hand,
    I send my soul through time and space
    To greet you. You will understand.”
    – James Elroy Flecker

    Like

  19. wallside Says:

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I am hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

    Like

  20. Successful Leader Says:

    Usually I don’t learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great article.

    Like

  21. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    Thanks for the comment/question/suggestion; however just to say that I have NO technical knowledge, nor much spare time in between writing and “managing” my many WordPress blogs, so not much use asking anything “techno”. You wouldn’t believe how this blog simply developed from simple postings of my writings and various ideas to WordPress. I just write and post.
    My various writing articles at http://www.craigswritingarticles.wordpress.com and http://www.nzwriter.wordpress.com may be helpful to you.
    Pleased you like it (as the reason I write is to share
    Thanks for the understanding and all the best

    “total non-techno” craig

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and http://goo.gl/vTpjk

    “Since I can never see your face,
    And never shake you by the hand,
    I send my soul through time and space
    To greet you. You will understand.”
    – James Elroy Flecker

    PPS:

    IF PEOPLE DON’T WANT TO (OR CAN’T BE BOTHERED TO) READ ABOVE COMMENTS I MAY CONSIDER SHUTTING DOWN COMMENTS ON THIS BLOG!!

    Like

  22. Ela Deitrich Says:

    I truly enjoy looking at on this web site , it contains fantastic content . “The great secret of power is never to will to do more than you can accomplish.” by Henrik Ibsen.

    Like

  23. ver mais Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to grasp a lot approximately this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you can do with a few % to power the message house a little bit, however instead of that, that is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

    Like

  24. Bankruptcy Help Says:

    Good V I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related information ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Nice task..

    Like

  25. furniture tamworth Says:

    I am so happy to read this. This is the type of manual that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

    Like

  26. furniture tamworth Says:

    I’ve read some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to make such a wonderful informative site.

    Like

  27. tower crane technician Says:

    I was reading through some of your blog posts on this internet site and I conceive this web site is very informative! Keep posting.

    Like

  28. Ashley Jayne Says:

    You have remarked very interesting points! ps nice web site.

    Like

  29. symptoms of juvenile diabetes Says:

    I would like to consider the chance of saying thanks to you for that professional advice I have always enjoyed viewing your site. I’m looking forward to the commencement of my college research and the overall preparing would never have been complete without surfing your site. If I can be of any assistance to others, I would be glad to help via what I have learned from here.

    Like

  30. Kenneth Snow Says:

    Magnificent items from you, man. I’ve bear in mind your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you have bought right here, really like what you’re stating and the way through which you assert it. You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you. That is really a terrific site.|

    Like

  31. Landon Bridget Says:

    Just a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great style and design. “Reading well is one of the great pleasures that solitude can afford you.” by Harold Bloom.

    Like

  32. Renae Berquist Says:

    As well as web surfing above 3 hours today, yet still, I just rarely found any specific helpful posting including your site. The pretty worthy of sufficiently for my situation!

    Like

  33. Reed Mckennie Says:

    Excellent internet site, I discovered which most within the facts I’m seeking out! Along with the core I might suggest these to any person!

    Like

  34. Marlen Purzycki Says:

    Keep up the fantastic work , I read few posts on this internet site and I think that your weblog is really interesting and has bands of excellent information.

    Like

  35. Gayle Spanos Says:

    I like your writing style truly loving this site. “I am certain of nothing but the holiness of the heart’s affections, and the truth of imagination.” by Jeseph Joubert.

    Like

  36. craiglock Says:

    “Talent develops in tranquillity, character in the full current of human life.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

    Like

  37. craiglock Says:

    Hi
    CAN’T KEEP UP…BUT THANKS FOR THE “THANX”
    MANY MORE COMMENTS OVERNIGHT (many many hundreds of thousands already on this blog …true!) …so hope it’s not slowing down your loading speed!). Am really pleased you are enjoying my writings, as the reason I write is to share.
    Am having to remove many and so sorry can’t reply individually, but DO try to read as many as possible daily
    so “thanks for the thanx”
    “As we live and move and have our being, so from this vision, we create heaven in our own lives… and perhaps even heaven on earth.”
    – craig (as inspired by Acts 17:28 and the words of Felicia Searcy)
    “Aim at the earth and you may not get off the ground.
    “Aim at the stars and you may reach the moon.”
    “Aim at heaven and you’ll have earth thrown in…
    and you may even hit the stars.”
    – craig (as inspired by the famous quote by CS Lewis – 24th May 2012)
    “When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”
    – Leonardo da Vinci
    http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.html
    “If a man is called to be a street-sweeper,
    he should sweep streets even as Michelangelo painted,
    or Beethoven composed music, or
    Shakespeare wrote poetry.
    He should sweep streets so well
    that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say,
    here lived a great street sweeper
    who did his job well.”
    – Dr Martin Luther King, Jr.
    http://peacepursuit.wordpress.com/
    http://breakdownwalls.wordpress.com/

    The various books that Craig “felt inspired to write” are available at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4

    All proceeds go to needy and underprivileged children –
    MINE!

    PPS

    Instead of trying to reply to each one of you, I’ll just keep on writing
    “If the doctor told me I had six minutes to live, I’d type a little faster.”
    http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GGMAW4 and and http://www.creativekiwis.com/amazon.htm

    “Let not our different beliefs divide us, but let the Spirit of our shared humanity be what defines and unites us.”
    – craig

    Like

  38. Raleigh Brumby Says:

    great post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You must continue your writing. I am sure, you have a great readers’ base already!

    Like

  39. Janna Malkani Says:

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

    Like

  40. skal iPhone 6 Says:

    Informative and precise…

    Its difficult to find informative and accurate information but here I found…

    Like

  41. Locksmith chantilly Says:

    Its hard to find good help…

    I am forever proclaiming that its hard to procure good help, but here is…

    Like

  42. Clyde Mock Says:

    hi!,I like your writing very much! share we communicate more about your article on AOL? I require a specialist on this area to solve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

    Like

  43. Keri Nickerson Says:

    I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours nowadays, but I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It’s lovely price sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

  44. Priscila Calendine Says:

    My spouse and i were really contented when Ervin could conclude his homework using the ideas he obtained through the web page. It is now and again perplexing just to always be giving away thoughts which often men and women could have been making money from. And we understand we’ve got the blog owner to thank for that. These illustrations you have made, the simple blog navigation, the relationships your site give support to create – it is all unbelievable, and it’s really facilitating our son and our family do think this matter is cool, and that’s exceptionally mandatory. Many thanks for everything!

    Like

  45. Merle Chrisman Says:

    Thanks so much for giving everyone an exceptionally remarkable opportunity to read critical reviews from this website. It can be very sweet and as well , jam-packed with fun for me and my office friends to search your website no less than thrice a week to learn the newest guidance you have got. And lastly, we’re actually motivated concerning the superb concepts served by you. Some 2 facts in this posting are indeed the most efficient I have ever had.

    Like

  46. Latrice Birmingham Says:

    I went over this site and I conceive you have a lot of good information, saved to fav (:.

    Like

  47. Android-Casino-Spiele Says:

    Looking around…

    I like to browse around the online world, regularly I will just go to Digg and read and check stuff out…

    Like

  48. brevile Says:

    I pay a quick visit each day a few websites and information sites to read articles or reviews, but this blog offers feature based articles.

    Like

  49. juicing 2012 Says:

    Sharing some thing is superior than keeping up-to our self, thus the YouTube video that is posted at this place I am going to share with my relatives and colleagues.

    Like

  50. strony internetowe Choszczno Says:

    Hello. excellent job. I did not expect this. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!

    Like

  51. Anonymous Says:

    Hello. impressive job. I did not imagine this. This is a impressive story. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

