Playing Piano In My Mind – Part 2

FindingStrengthToStandAgain's Blog

This post is a continuation of last week’s post.

I started playing the piano when I was so young my feet could not touch the floor.  I remember my teacher often telling me to stop swinging my legs and start focusing on my fingers.  Following my stroke at age 27, I was unable to move my left hand fingers at all.  Occupational therapists suggested I visualize something I had done frequently with my hands or arms.  Sometimes when a patient uses this visualization technique they regain use of the affected limbs faster.  Until my stroke, I had still played piano regularly.

At night, when the only sounds were nurses shuffling their feet or the beeping of IV machines, I would visualize that I was playing my heart out.  I could hear the notes in my mind as I imagined my fingers easily pressing the keys.  I could instruct my…

View original post 552 more words

